- n any material used to thicken
- Argo representatives say that their laundry product contains nothing but cornstarch, a common thickener for soups and desserts.
- Lab tests found it in wheat gluten, a gravy thickener used in wet pet food.
- It may be one of the more unlikely food crazes of recent times, but agar-agar (the flavorless, seaweed-based thickener used in soups and jellies) is hip at least in Japan .
News & Articles
- Having a wheat allergy doesn’t mean you have to give up on everything
Dear Barbara: I’ve recently been told that I am allergic to wheat. I don’t mind giving up the bread, etc., but I don’t want to give up my gravy, sauces and soups. What can I use as a thickener other than flour? I know I can use cornstarch, but I don’t like it; it tastes chalky to me. Is there anything else I can use? — Michelle from Stockton
June 28, 2013 - Lodi News-Sentinel